Using Soda Cans to Collect Rain Water and for Early Warning Devices

Water collection is one of the most important tasks in a survival situation. Without water, they say you will last about 3 days. Depending on the situation, it could be much less than that. Finding a water source can be difficult in certain geographic locations. But the one source of water that is fairly universal is rain water. But even if it rains, you have to have a way to collect the water so you can process it for drinking, and cooking.

There are many different techniques for collecting rain water. One often overlooked method is to use containers found in trash. Soda or beer cans are very common and can be used for many different purposes. Out at my survival site, I employ soda cans to collect rain water and to serve as an early warning device around the perimeter of my camp. I simply gathered up a bunch of cans and strung them up around my camp using cordage.

Some of the cans were kept intact to collect rain water while others had drainage hoes punched in the bottom. I placed small rocks in the cans selected for early warning. They make a great rattling noise when disturbed and can alert you to the presence of man or beast.

I also use tarps and buckets, as well as old food containers, in addition to the soda cans to collect rainwater. One good rain storm can produce gallons of water which would be super beneficial in a survival situation. We had a series of rain storms recently and I estimated that I had collected at least 3-5 gallons of water. Think outside the box and use whatever items which are available to collect water.

Watch the video below to see an overview of my soda can method.

In a survival situation, no one is above dumpster diving to acquire materials to help keep you alive. Collect up as many cans and other containers as possible and use them according as you see fit. The more containers you place out will provide you with plenty of water. Rain water is usually considered fairly clean but I always recommend boiling it before using if possible.

Visit Titan Survival for high quality survival and camping gear

Leave a comment